DIY Moisturizing Hair Mask

21 Apr

CoconutOil

A lot of the Indian women I know swear by coconut oil when it comes to hair treatments, especially my sister.

When she visits me, I always coax her into giving me a head massage. She usually heats coconut oil and applys it onto the scalp with cotton swabs. She says, this helps every strand of hair get coated and the warmness of the oil helps it penetrate the scalp. My hair always feels wonderful and soft after a hot oil massage.

Coconut oil is not only known to give you healthy skin. It is just as good for you hair because it has Lauric acid which locks in hair proteins and protects the hair roots. This avoids hair breakage. It is also a rich source of Vitamins E, K and Iron. The nutrients ensure your hair stays glossy and soft. Vitamin E also keeps dandruff at bay, which by the way, is a major cause for hair fall.

I was watching bubzbeauty on youtube a while back (she has some amazing suggestions). From her, I learned to make a coconut hair mask that include other oils. I sometimes use the oils I have at hand. My family likes the mask as it can also be applied on the body before a shower. It is very moisturizing. This is how the mask is made:

  1. Melt a cup of coconut oil over boiling water
  2. Add 2 tablespoons of olive oil and almond oil to the coconut oil
  3. Blend the mixture with a hand blender for a minute
  4. Put this mixture in the freezer for 20 minutes to slightly harden
  5. Take it out of the freezer and blend it with the hand blender again for a minute
  6. Add a spoon of vitamin E oil and glycerine and blend till it is a lotion-like consistency
  7. You could add a dash of water as bubzbeauty suggests, but I don’t. Also optional is adding a couple of drops of food colorant.
  8. Blend the mixture with a hand blender again till it is the consistency of lotion.

IMG_5899

Put it into an air tight container and save it for when you want to use it. Since where I live is quite warm, I store the jar in my fridge.

IMG_5900 IMG_5907

Whenever you want to use the mask, dampen your hair and apply the mask all over your scalp. I usually leave it on for a minimum of one hour after which I shampoo my hair.

I like the mask as it not only has coconut oil but other ingredients too, that are so good for your tresses.

If you give it a try let me know what you think. If you have a hair mask that works wonders for your hair, please let me know and I will try it.

Keep those tresses gorgeous.

cooltext1007602866

Here is the youtube video tutorial that inspired me to make this hair mask

Title Photo Credit: Nature’s Health Foods

2 Responses to “DIY Moisturizing Hair Mask”

  1. luv4beautyandnailart April 29, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    Hey, this sounds really nourishing!!!
    I use coconut oil with olive oil always..but never mixed almond oil. And I never followed all dese procedures…but they seem tempting n worth tryying 🙂

    • beautyinformer April 29, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

      You should try them. Believe me, they are worth a try 😀 Au natural 🙂

Leave a Reply

