MAC FIX+ Review and DIY Option

25 Apr

M6GX

Over the past couple of years, I have heard so much about MAC’s Fix+, that I decided I needed a bottle. I bought me one a couple of weeks ago and decided to share my findings and opinion.

This setting spray is supposed to be sprayed onto your face after you apply makeup. It is created to keep makeup in place for hours.

MAC’s description of FIX+

An aqua-spritz of vitamin and minerals, infused with a calm-the-skin blend of green tea, chamomile, cucumber, topped off with the fresh, natural, energizing scent of Sugi. Adds radiance, finishes makeup. Spray it on. Skin drinks it up!

The box reads: A soothing moisture mist that refreshes the skin and finishes makeup. Hold bottle 12” away from face and spray evenly. Use before or after makeup.

Fix+ contains: Water, Glycerin, Cucumber and Chamomile extracts, to name a few. These ingredients help hydrate and moisturize skin.

IMG_5955

What I like about MAC FIX+

  • It definitely keeps makeup looking fresh throughout the day.
  • I spritz on some after my makeup routine and my makeup stays vibrant and in place till the end of my work day. I’m talking about 10 to 11 hours ladies!
  • The bottle comes with a nozzle that has a lock system. This makes it easy to carry the product around without accidentally spraying it all over the place.
  • I always wear a powder compact and after a spray of this product, my makeup looks smoother and naturally textured. The powder appearance is diminished.
  • I learnt that wetting my eyeshadow applicator brush with the product and then swiping baked eyeshadow onto my eyes, gives the color a more vivid appearance.
  • Some YouTube MUGs use a spritz on their brushes before packing on loose pigments onto their eyes.
  • It has a light, pleasant fragrance that wakes my skin and senses up when I spray it.
  • I have never tried it on my skin before makeup application so I can’t comment on how that works.

IMG_5959

What doesn’t stand out for me about MAC FIX+

  • I sometimes have it leaving splotches on my face if I forget to hold it far enough (12” is an uncomfortable distance away from your face). The splotches dry up in 30 seconds though, and don’t look blotchy, so that works for me.
  • The price. The product retails at 1150 INR and 21 USD.
  • May not be the best option for people with oily skin as it is known to work those oil glands. Someone did mention using it before priming and not after,  to avoid breaking out. I suggest you check with the sales assistant at MAC if you plan on getting yourself one of these, and if you have oily skin.

 My overall opinion

I will continue to use this product as it keeps my makeup looking fresh for hours on end. However, I am willing to try cheaper alternatives that are just as good.

I also plan on trying beautyandblog’s DIY fix spray. She uses glycerin, rose water and distilled water to make her own fixing spray. It sounds promising and you can see how she makes it, here – http://www.beautyandblog.com/2011/12/dupe-it-yourself-mac-fix-plusmakeup.html

If you do try either Fix+ or the DIY spray, let me know how you find it.

cooltext1007602866

 

5 Responses to “MAC FIX+ Review and DIY Option”

  1. Daryl April 25, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    Congrats!
    🙂

  2. mesmerisingmoonlight April 26, 2013 at 8:04 am #

    Reblogged this on mesmerisingmoonlight.

  3. justinarodd April 26, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    Before you test any products on your face you should check out this website! Its a cosmetics database that informs people about the ingredients used in products and how harmful it is for u. I find it extremely useful and I’ve stopped using make-up

    http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/

    • beautyinformer April 26, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

      I will definitely look it up. Thanks for the share!

Leave a Reply

