DIY Lemon and Coconut Body Scrub

14 Jun

IMG_6351

 

 

I love body scrubs and I always make my own. I spend less, and I end up with a quality product that is chemical free!

 

 

I recently made a jar of lemon and coconut body scrub, as a gift for my BFF’s birthday. After making this super moisturizing scrub, and falling in love with it, I decided to share the recipe with all of you.

 

lemon n coconut scrub

 

To make the scrub

  1. Fill the empty jar with caster sugar, to measure the exact quantity of product you want to make.
  2. Pour the measured sugar into a mixing bowl.
  3. Add five to six drops of lemon oil, half a teaspoon of vitamin E oil, and three drops of lemon grass oil to the sugar and mix well.
  4. Pour enough coconut oil to combine all the ingredients into a sandy like texture.
  5. Add a couple of drops of lemon yellow food color and mix this into the scrub till it is well combine and coats all the particles of sugar.
  6. Spoon into the jar. Ensure the jar is airtight.
  7. Add a pretty ribbon and a message to the jar if you want to, and you are done 🙂

Capture

Why this scrub is good for your skin

Coconut oil – moisturizes, nourishes and protects skin. Also helps fight aging.

Lemon grass oil – good for oily, acne-prone skin. Also relieves stress, headaches, and muscular aches.

Lemon oil – has antiseptic effects on infections of the skin, including acne.

Vitamin E – acts as an antioxidant, and helps prevent ageing, remove scars, lighten stretch marks, and repair skin.

Caster sugar as a scrub – finer than regular sugar so not harsh on the skin. Exfoliates and removes dead skin, leaving your skin supple and moisturized.

I hope you find this post useful. Let me know if you try this scrub. I’d like to know what you think of it 🙂

If you make your own scrubs and beauty potions, I’d love to know and try them. Share links with me and I will check them out.

Till later my lovelies xoxo

cooltext1007602866

26 Responses to “DIY Lemon and Coconut Body Scrub”

  1. Miss Ayo Délé June 14, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    I smell it from here mmmmmmmmmmm.
    I must try it.

  2. Setu Rohini June 14, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Hi Thanks for lovely recipe.
    I also published the coffee nail art. Hope you like it 🙂 http://thenailartandbeautydiaries.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/i-love-coffee-nail-art/

  3. trendybelleblog June 14, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Hi doll!
    I just put out a new post which I included you in! I hope you like it. I can’t wait to try out this scrub!

    http://trendybelleblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/a-thank-you-to-all-and-a-lovely-blogger-to-check-out/

    Michele 🙂

    • beautyinformer June 14, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

      Going to check it out right away!! Let me know if you try the scrub 🙂 xoxo

  4. SerachShiro June 14, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    I would love to try it and than the combination, terrific ! 🙂

  5. audrina1759 June 15, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

    I know for sure that anything with lemon in it is definitely good for the skin.Thanks for sharing this info.

  6. Amria June 15, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    This is such a great idea! 😀

  7. fashionstoryandmore June 17, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    Great tip for a nice gift.

  8. estycare June 17, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    YUM! I bet it smells amazing, I may have to try this out 🙂

  9. Ushus Bernard June 18, 2013 at 6:51 am #

    Pattttt I love you and thank you ever so much for the lovely gift! I got back home and decided to try it out right away, and believe me, it was the best body scrub I have ever tried by far. The aroma, coconut oil’s smoothness, Lemon’s goodness, it was a great feeling. My skin felt soft, moisturized and supple. I also tried the face pack. You are awesome. I decided that botch the face pack and the body scrub are the best recipe for my big day in November. All thanks to you. I truly appreciate your effort, time and a terrific sense of beauty products.You are the best. I can’t wait for you to doll me up on my big day! mwahhhhh

    • beautyinformer June 18, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

      Wow, I am happy you liked the two products Ushy! Can’t wait to know any results you notice 🙂

  10. Notorious Beauty Blog June 19, 2013 at 7:06 am #

    I made a scrub last month using coconut oil and I had problems with it clumping since it was a solid coconut oil at room temperature. Did you have the same problem or did you use a liquid coconut oil?

    • beautyinformer June 19, 2013 at 10:32 am #

      I used liquid virgin coconut oil :)You could also use grapeseed or olive oil

  11. All Things Ally June 20, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    So glad I saw this post! I have really been wanting to make my own scrub, can’t wait to try this out!!

    allthings-ally.blogspot.com

    • beautyinformer June 20, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      I am glad you stopped by. Try it and let me know if you like it. My friend absolutely loves it 🙂

      • Allyson Upsher June 20, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

        Me too! Found your blog through Elegant Rebel Beauty, I love it!
        I definitely will! These would make perfect Christmas gifts also!

        allthings-ally.blogspot.com

      • beautyinformer June 20, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

        I am glad 😀
        Yea, I plan on gifting DIYs this Christmas 🙂

  12. beautyinformer July 8, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this one Maria. Love and hugs xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So I went to St Tropez… | amriaa - July 8, 2013

    […] anyone needs to get rid of a tan, you know what you have to do:  scruby-duby baby! Here’s a DIY scrub that I think you’ll enjoy, thanks to Patricia for taking the time to teach us how to make […]

Leave a Reply

