DIY Shower Jellies

21 Jun

IMG_6452

 

Inspired by the bath jellies I saw at the Lush counter, I decided to look up a DIY recipe and make my own. So here is my version of bath jellies with ingredients that I easily found at my local super market.

 

 

Capture

 

The procedure is as simple as 1,2 and 3!

1. Melt one sachet of gelatin in 240ml of hot, distilled water. Ensure the gelatin dissolves completely and let it cool till it is lukewarm.

2. Then add 100 to 150 ml of shower gel to the mixture. You can use any shower gel. Mix well.

3. Pour the mixture into a mold of your choice and allow it to set in your refrigerator – I used small heart shaped molds. Once set, the soap can be unmolded and stored in a glass or plastic container.

IMG_6453

I keep my little heart jellies in the fridge and help myself to one when I want to take a shower. Because of the heat in Bangalore, they usually melt when I keep them out of my refrigerator. 😦

I am still looking for a recipe that gives me jellies I don’t have to store in the fridge. If you know of a DIY, I would love if you could share the web link with me.

The DIY that inspired my DIY

 

If you haven’t tried making bath jellies, you should give this one a try. It is so much fun to make and use!

cooltext1007602866

18 Responses to “DIY Shower Jellies”

  1. jesslan June 21, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    It’s a WONDERFUL idea!!!! I’ll buy gelatine and I’ll try of course!! I love this idea!!! Thanks for having shared this!!

  2. All Things Ally June 21, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    Yay! More DIY bath products! I am going to have some wonderful DIY christmas gifts this year 😀

  3. Megan June 21, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    This is such a cool idea! If only I had a bath in my house, I only have a shower 😦 Sigh!

    • beautyinformer June 21, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

      The nice thing about these jellies is that you can use them under the shower. One lil heart is enough. You can squish it with your loofah and u have your jelly ready for the shower.
      Let me know if you try this 🙂

      • Megan June 21, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

        Oh really cool sounds awesome I will definitely let you know if I try it out 😍

  4. estycare June 21, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Super cute!!!

  5. Notorious Beauty Blog June 24, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    Ooooo I love it! I have always wanted to try a Shower Jelly from Lush I just didn’t feel like they were as worth the price tag as some of the other products. I will definitely be trying this out at some point though because those look like fun 🙂

    • beautyinformer June 25, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

      Yea they were so much fun to make and more fun in the shower 😀
      Let me know if you try them 🙂

  6. jesslan June 25, 2013 at 5:25 am #

    In Italy it’s quite difficult to find powder of gelatine, I found only sheets of gelatine, that is the same thing. This evening I’ll try! I’ve seen other videos and most of them join also a spoon of salt…did u use it?

    • beautyinformer June 25, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

      I am so excited to know you are trying this. I did not use salt but I guess you can 🙂
      Let me know how they turn out xx

  7. planetheavenpr July 2, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    what a fabulous idea I love it 😎 xx

  8. planetheavenpr July 2, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    Reblogged this on Planet Heaven PR and commented:
    Love this idea from Beauty Informer !

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Making shower and bath bombs | Spread Information - June 21, 2013

    […] DIY Shower Jellies (beautyinformer.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Top 10 DIY Valentine Bath Products - January 29, 2014

    […] Recipe and photo credit to beautyinformer.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

