Wine & Oatmeal face mask n’ scrub

27 Jun

s3

Today, I’ve decided to share my homemade wine and oatmeal facemask that also doubles up as a face scrub. So, I will tell you how to make this and share my way of using it as a great gift for birthdays and the likes.

Here is what you will need:

  • A glass or plastic jar to contain the final product
  • Enough oatmeal to fill the jar
  • A teaspoon each of nutmeg and cinnamon powder
  • A bottle of wine

Putting the face mask and scrub together:

  • Dry-grind the oatmeal to a coarse powder
  • Add the nutmeg and cinnamon and mix well
  • Spoon the powder into the jar and tie the neck of the jar with a pretty ribbon. You can include a message if you like with instructions on how to use the product.

IMG_6390 IMG_6391

How to use the product:

  • Spoon enough of the powder into a bowl for one use
  • Add enough red wine to the powder till it forms a paste (add a few drops of honey if you have dry skin)
  • Gently massage this paste on your face and leave it on till it dries (avoid the eye area)
  • Wet the dried mask on your face, and gently scrub your face
  • Rinse your face well and pat dry
  • Write to me and let me know the results you see 🙂

Why this mask and scrub is good for your skin

  1. It has wine –  is rich in antioxidant polyphenols and can enhance the skin’s resistance. Also promotes blood circulation and gives you glowing skin
  2. It has nutmeg – has antiseptic properties and is said to lighten scars
  3. It has cinnamon – is known to help with acne.
  4. It has oatmeal – contains antioxidant and anti-inflammatory compounds that soothe itchy, dry and irritated skin.  Also great for acne-prone skin because it absorbs oil from the skin’s surface.

This sweetheart is packed with goodness and I now use it once a week. I have started to notice a glow and my skin feels suppler. My skin hasn’t broken out from the time I started using this pack.

Let me know if you try it or if you have tried something similar.

Till later loves!

cooltext1007602866

11 Responses to “Wine & Oatmeal face mask n’ scrub”

  1. Amria June 27, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    wine? I would have never thought of that 😀

  2. thefashionrealist June 27, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    Interesting!! Will have to try this out 😉

    • beautyinformer June 28, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

      Let me know if you do! 🙂

      • thefashionrealist August 20, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

        Getting ready to [finally] try this mask out!! I was wondering how often you use it?? Is it a daily thing, or once a week?? Thanks!! Really looking forward to trying it out!! 🙂

      • beautyinformer August 20, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

        Let me know if you notice a difference.

      • thefashionrealist August 20, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

        Yaaaa….Just finished reading the whole post again and saw you use it once a week, lol. Thanks!

      • beautyinformer August 20, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

        🙂

  3. Elena Ferdinand June 27, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    Hey there! I’m stopping by from the blog hop and just wanted to let you know I’m now following you via Bloglovin’! I hope you’ll get a chance to check me out also! Have a wonderful Thursday :o)

    Blog url
    http://www.croppedstories.blogspot.com

    Bloglovin’
    http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/3718883

    croppedstories@gmail.com

    • beautyinformer June 28, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

      Following you on bloglovin too 🙂
      Have a great weekend Elena xx

Leave a Reply

