DIY Anti Acne Toner

10 Jul

IMG_1380

I recently learned that cumin, apart from tasting and smelling good, has skin benefits. I learned that cumin has antibacterial properties that can treat acne!

I also learned how to make my own toner with cumin, boiled inΒ water. I made mine with a few drops of sweet basil oil. Sweet basil essential oil is said to enliven dull-looking skin, and improve skin tone. It is also an effective remedy for acne and eczema.

 

 

Capture

To make your own all-natural toner:

  • Bring the water to a boil
  • Add the cumin seeds and boil the water for two to three minutes
  • Let this mixture cool for twenty minutes (do not remove the cumin seeds till the mixture cools; it gives the toner more time to extract all the goodness from the cumin)
  • Once the mixture is cold, filter the cumin seeds out and save the liquid
  • Add 4 to 5 drops of sweet basil essential oil to the liquid
  • Mix this and put it into a spritzer. I used a dark, instead of a transparent spritz bottle, as it is said to increase shelf life and keep the godness of the oil inside.
  • Store your toner in the refidgerator. It stays for upto a month

Use this toner after you wash your face. Spritz some of your toner onto a cotton pad and apply it on your skin. The toner is working for me. It controls oil to a certain degree and I haven’t broken out since I started using the toner.

However, you must be warned that the product has an earthy basil fragrance, but this does not linger after the toner dries. It also has a yellowish brown color because of the cumin. This toner should be tested before you use it as some people can be allergic to cumin and sweet basil oil. Skip the sweet basil oil if you are pregnant or if you are a heart patient.

That being said, this toner is very good for acne prone skin. I am living proof that this works πŸ™‚

cooltext1007602866

24 Responses to “DIY Anti Acne Toner”

  1. thefashionrealist July 10, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

    Interesting!! Is sweet basil oil the only oil that works??

    • beautyinformer July 11, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      You could use tea tree oil too πŸ™‚

      • thefashionrealist July 11, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

        Perfect!! I believe I already have that, thanks!! πŸ™‚

      • beautyinformer July 12, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

        πŸ˜€ Let me know if you try this toner. I’d like to know your experience!

      • thefashionrealist July 12, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

        I definitely will!! πŸ˜€

      • beautyinformer July 14, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

        Thank you πŸ™‚
        Have a lovely week xx

  2. jesslan July 11, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    Maybe this autumn I’ll do this!

  3. Amria July 11, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    Great DIY Patricia πŸ˜€ !

    • beautyinformer July 11, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      Thanks love and thank you for reblogging it πŸ˜€ xoxo

      • Amria July 11, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

        Had to share πŸ˜€ xoxo

      • beautyinformer July 11, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

        ❀ πŸ™‚

  4. Amria July 11, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    Reblogged this on amriaa and commented:
    Check out Patricia’s DIY Anti Acne Toner! πŸ™‚ all natural and with great benefits

  5. Notorious Beauty Blog July 11, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    You have been putting up the coolest DIYs! Keep em coming! I love it ❀

    • beautyinformer July 12, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

      Thanks Tori. You motivate me πŸ™‚ I’ll get more up soon xoxo
      Have a great weekend!!

      • Notorious Beauty Blog July 12, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

        Good πŸ™‚ Motivation is a good thing! I cannot wait to see them πŸ™‚

  6. plainjanemcgough July 11, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    very helpful! πŸ™‚

  7. michelle July 11, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

    I am definitely going to have to give this a try!

  8. Country Rose July 11, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    I’ll do it! πŸ˜€

  9. livelaughloveblogforever July 12, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    I have to give this a try. I think I will try making it with both sweet basil oil and then again with tea tree to compare!

    Marley
    livelaughloveblogforever.wordpress.com
    Twitter: @LiveLau57379791

Leave a Reply

