DIY Lip Scrubbies – Bubblegum & Chocolate

15 Jul

IMG_1388IMG_1403 For all you lipstick addicts, here are a couple of DIY lip scrubs that can help you exfoliate, and prep your puckers. I made two lip scrubs this weekend. I made one inspired by bubblegum, and one inspired by my ardent love for chocolate. These are cheaper than store bought lip exfoliators and come minus many of the chemicals you shouldn’t be applying on your lips. They also come packed with the gooness of moisturization and healing properties.

Here is what you need for the Bubblegum lip scrub

IMG_1382

 

6 tbsp of caster sugar

3 drops of vitamin E oil

1 tsp of your favorite strawberry lip salve or balm

1 tsp of sweet almond oil

3 tsp of olive oil

2 drops of grapefruit extract

 

 

To make your scrub, mix all the wet ingredients together, and then add the caster sugar. Mix this well and put it into a small airtight container. You can label and decorate the container if you want to give the lip scrub to someone as a gift.

IMG_1390 IMG_1385

 

Here is what you need for the Chocolate lip scrub

IMG_1402

6 tbsp of brown sugar

3 drops of vitamin E oil

1 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp of coffe powder (instant or a chicory blend)

3 tbsp of coconut oil ( you could use olive oil instead of coconut)

To make your scrub, mix all the dry ingredients together, and then add the coconut and Vitamin E oil. Mix this well, and put it into a small airtight container. You can label and decorate the container if you want to give the lip scrub to someone as a gift.

IMG_1403 IMG_1401

 

To get smooth, hydrated lips

Capture

  • Scoop a little of your lipscrub into your palm.
  • Use your index finger to scrub this mixture onto your lips for 15 to 20 seconds. Then leave it on your lips and smack your lips for 5 to 10 seconds.
  • Wipe the scrub off with a wet tissue or wash it off with some water.
  • Pat your lips dry.
  • Immediately follow this process up with a smacking of lip balm or a drop of coconut oil.

And there you have it, perfectly hydrated lips that compliment lipstick, lipgloss and your smile 🙂

 

I hope you try to make these scrubbies. If you do, I’d like to know what you think of them.

Have you or do you make your own lip scrub? I’d like to know how you make yours. Leave me a comment if you already have a blog post on a lip scrub and I will check it out.

 

Till later my lovelies xo

cooltext1007602866

 

 

17 Responses to “DIY Lip Scrubbies – Bubblegum & Chocolate”

  1. elegantrebelbeauty July 15, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    WOW! This is a WONDERFUL post!! I can’t wait to have some time to try these!!

  2. All Things Ally July 15, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

    I am definitely going to try that chocolate one!

  3. Notorious Beauty Blog July 15, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    Yay another DIY!!! I love idea 🙂 Lush lip scrubs are my favorite but these look spool yummy!

    • beautyinformer July 15, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

      Yea, I have heard about the Lush ones but I have never used them. I like these. They are easy on the pocket and help me save my pennies for more important stuff, like lipsticks 😀

      • Notorious Beauty Blog July 15, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

        Haha I might have to try this when my Lush scrub expires. Their scrubs are sooooo yummy but I bet these are too 🙂 You are right…lipsticks are way more important 😉 haha

      • beautyinformer July 15, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

        Yea 🙂

  4. trendybelleblog July 15, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    Wow these look amazing! I definitely need to try to make them soon! Thanks for the how to 🙂

    • beautyinformer July 15, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

      You are welcome 🙂
      Let me know if you try them!

  5. White Pearl July 20, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    OMG I Love the post……These scrubs look so fascinating ! Lovely and I am amazed to se the beauty of your lips ! Love them….I wish I could get smooth ones like you ! Love you blog it is fantastic !!

    • beautyinformer July 31, 2013 at 8:05 am #

      Thanks dear. I love the scrubs and I am always making scrubs. My family and friend love em too!
      Thanks for your sweet compliments 🙂

  6. corina200398 August 30, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    This was so helpful.Thank you very much for sharing with us.

    • beautyinformer August 30, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

      I am glad you liked the post. You are welcome and thank you for following me. I am glad to get to know you through my blog. Following you too xx

      • corina200398 August 30, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

        Aww,thank you very much,you’re so sweet.:)

  7. Puja October 17, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    hi!

    I am new to your blog. I really like the DIY’s. I would like to ask you something. In this post, which lipstick are you wearing in the last pic? Thanks!

    • beautyinformer October 18, 2013 at 4:08 am #

      Hey Pooja, it is Impassioned by MAC 🙂
      It is from their amplified range.

Leave a Reply

