DIY Natural and Organic Lip Balm

31 Jul

IMG_1405

I have wanted to make my own lip balm for the longest time but I couldn’t get my hands on beeswax till I found the lovely Ekta’s shop, Green Junction on eBay. I am amazed by her customer service. She got my products to me in two days and she personally messaged me to let me know the tracking details. She is such a friendly person and I am glad I found her shop for some of my DIY needs. You should check her out if you are into DIY beauty projects. She sent me three lip balm recipes with my beeswax which was so thoughtful of her. Thanks Ekta! Here’s her Facebook page, if you would like to visit her and see what she sells. 

So, here is what I used to make my own lip balm:

1.5 tsp of beeswax

1 tbsp of raw cocoa butter

1 tbsp of coconut oil

1 tsp of sweet almond oil

6 drops of vitamin E oil

3 drops of lavender oil

I grated the beeswax and added it to the cocoa butter, coconut oil, almond oil, and Vitamin E oil. I melted this over a double boiler and then added the lavender oil. You can skip the lavender oil if you don’t want to use it.

IMG_1408

 

 

 

I then poured the balm into old makeup jars I had lying around my house.

 

 

 

 

IMG_1406

 

 

 

I love my first attempt at a lip balm. It is a heavy duty moisturizer and I think it is great to keep those chapped and flaky looking lips at bay.

 

 

 

Let me know if you try making your own lip balm, or if you already have a recipe I can check out.

Till later my lovelies!

cooltext1007602866

22 Responses to “DIY Natural and Organic Lip Balm”

  1. Ekta July 31, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    That’s a lovely and quite moisturising lip balm recipe, Patricia.
    I need lipbalm all year round , one of favourite lipbalm is with peppermint essential oil , I like cooling and refreshing after effect of peppermint oil after application on lips
    I try your lipbalm very soon…

    • beautyinformer August 27, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

      I cant wait to try the peppermint lip balm Ekta. Gona make one shortly. You are so kind and helpful and so full of idea. God bless you xx

  2. Amria July 31, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    I love how you find natural ways to create your own beauty products, you always inspire me! 😀 I will also try it

  3. hanimaelsa July 31, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually think this amazing
    site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the advice!

    • beautyinformer August 27, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

      Thanks so much for appreciating my blog 🙂 It means a lot to me x
      Please visit me regularly

  4. Notorious Beauty Blog July 31, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    Love it ❤ Your DIYs are seriously so amazing and I love how you find natural ways to create your own beauty products without all the yucky stuff we find in store bought beauty items! You are amazing!

    • beautyinformer August 27, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

      Been so long since I visited WP or you Tori. I have missed you but I am back now and I’ll be checking out everything I have missed on your blog xox

      • Notorious Beauty Blog August 27, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

        Haha you haven’t missed much because I have been extremely busy as well and haven’t been able to post a lot! I am headed back down to college on Sunday and I am hoping to settle back into a regular blogging schedule from there 🙂 Fingers crossed!

      • beautyinformer August 29, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

        I am glad I did not miss much 🙂

      • Notorious Beauty Blog August 30, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

        Haha nope! I need to start posting more soon though 🙂

  5. trendybelleblog August 18, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    Hi! I just wanted to let you know that I love your blog so much that I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award! You can check it out here:

    http://trendybelleblog.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/liebster-award/

    Michele 🙂
    http://trendybelleblog.wordpress.com/

  6. estycare August 18, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    I miss your posts, I hope all is well! xoxo

    • beautyinformer August 20, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

      I have been away from home for a bit because of some changes happening around me. it’s lovely of you to have checked in on me Marie. I miss blogging and can’t wait to get back to regular posting soon xoxo

      • estycare August 20, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

        Of course, you know you’re my favorite! 🙂
        I was worried, just wanted to make sure you were okay. Looking forward to seeing you back soon ❤

      • beautyinformer August 27, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

        Thanks hun. I’ll have a post up soon ❤

  7. Maria Vole August 25, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    I love all your DIYs but this one sounds especially amazing – will definitely have to try this out!

    Maria x
    getbudgetbeautiful.com

    • beautyinformer August 27, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

      Thanks for visiting me and following me Maria. Checking your blog out too 🙂 xo

  8. elkeeb September 3, 2013 at 12:29 am #

    This is awesome! I love non-toxic natural;l beauty products.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Healthy & Affordable “Comfort” Tips | peaceandhonestlife - August 12, 2013

    […] DIY Natural and Organic Lip Balm (beautyinformer.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

